Week 12: IDEATION AND INITIAL RESEARCH

I started my research by creating a mind map of all the topics I could potentially create the article model from. I narrowed these ideas down so I could fully research my topic and gain more insight into it.

https://www.youtube.com/c/EarthlingEdChannel/videos

https://earthlinged.org/

During my research I came across an activist called Ed Winters who is a meat eater turned vegan who makes youtube videos, delivers Ted Talks and even wrote a book about the truths of the meat industry. I have linked below a few videos I watched to better gauge a vegans perspective.

.

.

In a small group we wrote down what words, phrases and imagery came to mind to do with veganism and produced a miro board shown on the left. I then decided to do the same on my own which produced even more results and even asked some other friends to tell me what they first thought when I said veganism to them. There was a lot of overlap including green, vegetables and animal cruelty which gave me a good starting ground.

MY IMAGERY MIND MAP
MY FRIENDS IMAGERY MIND MAP (EACH COLOUR REPRESENTS A DIFFERENT PERSON)

I went to the library to check out advertising imagery to help me visualize what kind of model I could make for the cover. I looked at a book called ‘Creative Advertising: An Introduction’ by Miriam Sorrentino and found some imagery that related to veganism as well as clever ways of merging images together.

I thought of looking into animal cruelty as well as human exploitation imagery to get across the severity of the animal abuse.

I looked into human exploitation and combined that imagery with animals which are farmed for food.
I looked at animals as food and thought about the animals which are actually used for our meals. such as a cow in a burger.
I looked into the cruelty animals face when being farmed and bees are often gassed so farmers can save money.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started